Visual analytics of the modern world

A rare bird can fly: the world's widest rivers

Ecologists, limnologists, hydrologists, potamologists study the structure, condition, biological and chemical composition of water bodies, watercourses of the planet. If we talk about water arteries, the most full-flowing, deep, long rivers in the world are identified. They are famous for flora, fauna, importance for humans.

Let's talk about the widest river in Russia and in the world, and find out if the channels are suitable for river navigation.

How are rivers divided by width?

The channel of a waterway is formed by the movement of water. The process lasts for centuries, the area of the passage often changes due to natural or environmental reasons. When talking about the width, we mean the maximum distance between two points of different banks, including island areas. The maximum indicator is taken as the basis. The nature of the current and the water regime are important.

Rivers are divided into three types by width:

  1. narrow (flowing mainly in mountainous areas);
  2. average;
  3. wide.

The latter include blue highways over 150 meters wide. There are waterways in the world, standing on one bank of which, the second bank is difficult to discern even with binoculars. Let's start with the Russian ones.

Russia's widest rivers

The Russian Federation is famous for its rich nature. All over the world know the names of Russian reservoirs: Baikal, Volga, Yenisei. Let's tell you which river in Russia is the widest.

Ob - 60 km

It is formed at the confluence of the Altai arteries Katun and Biya. It flows along the West Siberian plain to the north for 3,650 km. One of the widest rivers in Siberia. The widest place is the mouth of the Ob Bay, where the artery flows into the Kara Sea. It is calculated to the places where Nadym and Nyda flow into the Bay. Together with its tributary Irtysh it forms the longest waterway in the country.

Ob

Ob during floods

In the bay steep waves of irregular shape are formed, it is difficult to approach the shore of the bay from the sea, there is a maritime navigation regime. The waters are rich in fish: sturgeon, sterlet, vendace, whitefish and others. The shores in this place are monotonous, devoid of forests, marshy. The size of the Ob basin is 2990 thousand square km.

Riverboats move along the Ob in all sections, carrying cargo and passengers. The depth varies from 110 to 300 cm (relevant to Salekhard and Khanty-Mansiysk districts).

Amur - 40-50 km

The water border between Russia and China, the Amur, is one of the widest in the country. It ranks first in the country by the number and diversity of ichthyofauna: 139 subspecies of fish are found in the waters of the Amur. It floods in August and September.

Amur

View of the Amur embankment in Khabarovsk

The river is navigable from source to mouth, with the narrowest point being limited to 300 meters. Notably, the Zeya, a tributary of the Amur, is wider than the main waterway at its confluence. The upper and middle parts of the river are the border zone between China and Russia. The Russian side of the Amur needs strengthening, as floods are becoming threatening.

Read also:  Гости из космоса

Lena - 20-30 km

The largest river in central Siberia, it is 4,400 kilometers long. For most of its journey from a nameless swamp to the Laptev Sea, the Lena is surrounded by coniferous forests, highlands, and meadows. Already in its middle course, the channel widens to 20 kilometers. Its source is in the southern Irkutsk region. On the right side of Baikal is the source of the Vitimcan, another major northern river, to which the Lena is connected via the waters of Vitim.

Lena

The mighty Lena River

Lena is known for being located entirely in the permafrost area. In the upper reaches, where there are no islands and the channel is single, the widest place is three kilometers, in places where islands cluster, the waterway spills to thirty. It freezes in reverse order.

Volga - 15-20 km

When you first find yourself on the Volga, you are struck by its beauty. It is the longest and widest river in Europe. The widest location is in neighboring Kazakhstan. The delta has 500 arms. The river's waterway provides fresh water to the Mangistau region of the Republic of Kazakhstan.

Volga

View of the Volga

The riverbed of the Volga expands after the Kama River flows into it. The character of the flow changes. During the Soviet years, dams, reservoirs, and hydroelectric power plants were built here: the Volga, Saratov, and Zhigulevskaya.

From the city of Rzhev to the mouth of the river is developed shipping and fishing. Today the waterway is one of the symbols of Russia.

Kama - 15 km

Kama is fed by melted snow and ice, has a narrow channel in the upper reaches, in the lower reaches is wide, up to 15 kilometers. It flows into the Kuibyshev reservoir, but two more reservoirs were created on the river. This improved conditions for the passage of ships.

Kama

Bridge across the Kama River near the village of Sorochi Gory

The disappearing taimen, reaching a length of 2 meters and weighing 80 kilograms, is once again found in the Kama.

The widest river in the world

Russia's waterways are not the widest in the world. Let's talk about world record holders.

The Amazon has broken three records simultaneously: the largest, full-flowing, and having the largest delta. The Amazon is recognized as a natural wonder of the world. In the middle reaches of the Amazon, the water artery is flooded, the width of the delta is 17-20 kilometers.

Amazon

The Amazon is the most amazing river on the planet

The Ganges delta is much wider than the Amazon delta, but it is formed by merging with the Brahmaputra (300 km wide). Here is the Sundarban mangrove forest, famous for its size and beauty. Living in the delta of the Indian river is dangerous: floods and cyclones occur in the area.

It's time to find out which river is the widest river in the world. The artery runs through Argentina and Uruguay. The indigenous peoples called this place the "river plate" or River Plate. The modern name is the Rio de la Plata.

Represents an estuary at the confluence of the Atlantic Ocean:

  • Uruguay;
  • Parana.

Europeans first discovered estuaries in the 16th century, attempting to find a waterway from the Atlantic to the Pacific. An estuary is an estuary that extends into the marine zone. Coastal areas are flooded during floods.

Rio de La Plata

View of Buenos Aires and Rio de la Plata from an airplane

La Plata is 48 kilometers wide at its narrowest and 320 kilometers wide at its widest. The city of Buenos Aires, the capital of Argentina, is situated on the left bank of the confluence of rivers. The area of the basin is 3.2 million km2In the waters there is a rare river dolphin, named after the name of the estuary, the turtle.

Read also:  Сердце города: самые большие площади в мире

The width of water arteries is not of serious importance to geographers, naturalists, ecologists. Much more important is the human attitude towards water bodies. Going on vacation, fishing, do not forget to clean up litter.

Share
Send
Cool
Popular

Leave a comment

address will not be published

Визуальная аналитика современного мира

Редкая птица долетит: самые широкие реки в мире

Экологи, лимнологи, гидрологи, потамологи изучают строение, состояние, биологический и химический состав водоемов, водотоков планеты. Если говорить о водных артериях, то на сегодняшний день определены самые полноводные, глубокие, протяженные реки в мире. Они славятся флорой, фауной, значением для человека.

Поговорим о самой широкой реке в России и в мире, узнаем, пригодны ли русла для речного судоходства.

Как разделяются реки по ширине?

Русло водной артерии образуется движением вод. Процесс длится веками, территория пролегания нередко изменяется ввиду природных или экологических причин. Говоря о ширине, имеется в виду максимальное расстояние между двумя точками разных берегов, включая зоны островов. За основу берется максимальный показатель. Значение имеют характер течения и водный режим.

Реки разделяются на три типа по ширине:

  1. узкие (протекают преимущественно в горных районах);
  2. средние;
  3. широкие.

К последним относят голубые магистрали шириной свыше 150 метров. Есть в мире водные артерии, стоя на одном берегу которой, второй берег сложно разглядеть даже в бинокль. Начнем с российских.

Самые широкие реки России

Российская Федерация славится богатой природой. Во всем мире знают названия российских водоемов: Байкал, Волга, Енисей. Расскажем, какая река в России самая широкая.

Обь — 60 км

Образуется при слиянии алтайских артерий Катуни и Бии. Протекает по западносибирской равнине на север 3650 километров. Одна из широчайших в Сибири рек. Максимально широкое место — устье Обской губы, где артерия впадает в Карское море. Расчет ведется до мест, где в губу впадают Надым и Ныда. Вместе с притоком Иртышем образуют самый протяженный водоток страны.

Обь

Обь во время половодья

В губе образуются крутые волны неправильной формы, приблизится к берегу залива со стороны моря сложно, здесь действует морской режим судоходства. Воды богаты рыбой: осетром, стерлядью, пелядью, сигом и другими. Берега в этом месте однообразны, лишены лесов, заболочены. Величина бассейна Оби — 2990 тысяч кв. км.

Речные суда передвигаются по Оби на всех участках, перевозя грузы и пассажиров. Глубина варьируется от 110 до 300 см (актуально для Салехардского и Ханты-Мансийского районов).

Амур — 40-50 км

Водная граница России и Китая, Амур, — одна из самых широких в стране. По количеству и разнообразию ихтиофауны занимает первое место в стране: 139 подвидов рыб водятся в водах Амура. Разливается в августе и сентябре.

Амур

Вид на Амур. Набережная Хабаровска

Река судоходна от истока до устья, самое узкое место ограничено 300 метрами. Примечательно, что приток Амура, Зея, в месте их слияния шире русла основной водной артерии. Верховья и средняя часть реки — пограничная зона между КНР и РФ. Российский берег Амура требует укрепления, поскольку разливы становятся угрожающими.

Почитайте также:  Посчитаем секс

Лена — 20-30 км

Самая крупная река в центре Сибири, длина составляет 4400 километров. На большей части пути от безымянного болота до моря Лаптевых Лена окружила себя хвойными лесами, нагорьями, лугами. Уже в среднем течении русло расширяется до 20 километров. Исток находится в южной части Иркутской области. По правую сторону от Байкала расположен исток Витимкана, еще одной крупной северной реки, с которой Лена соединяется через воды Витима.

Лена

Могучая река Лена

Лена известна тем, что полностью расположена в районе вечной мерзлоты. В верхнем течение, где нет островов, и русло едино, самое широкое место — 3 километра, в местах скопления островов водная магистраль разливается до тридцати. Замерзает в обратном порядке.

Волга — 15-20 км

Впервые оказавшись на Волге, поражаешься красотой. Это самая длинная и широкая река в Европе. Самое широкое место располагается на территории соседнего Казахстана. Дельта насчитывает 500 рукавов. Водовод реки обеспечивает пресной водой Мангистаускую область Республики Казахстан.

Волга

Вид на Волгу

Русло Волги расширяется после впадения в нее Камы. Характер течения меняется. В советские годы здесь построили плотины, водохранилища, гидроэлектростанции: Волжская, Саратовская, Жигулевская.

От г. Ржева до самого устья развито судоходство, производится отлов рыбы. Сегодня водная артерия — один из символов России.

Кама — 15 км

Кама питается растаявшим снегом и льдами, в верховьях обладает узким руслом, в низовьях разливается широко, до 15 километров. Впадает в Куйбышевское водохранилище, но на реке создано еще два водоема. Это улучшило условия для прохода судов.

Кама

Мост через Каму вблизи села Сорочьи горы

Улучшаются условия разведения рыбы. Исчезающий таймень, достигающий в длину 2 метров и весом в 80 килограмм вновь встречается в Каме.

Самая широкая река в мире

Водные артерии России — не самые широкие в мире. Поговорим о мировых рекордсменах.

Амазонка побила одновременно три рекорда: самая большая, полноводная, имеющая самую крупную дельту. Амазонка признана природным чудом света. В среднем течении Амазонки водная артерия разливается, ширина дельты составляет 17-20 километров.

Амазонка

Амазонка — самая удивительная река на планете

Дельта Ганга гораздо шире дельты Амазонки, но она образуется путем слияния с Брахмапутрой (300 км в ширину). Здесь расположен мангровый лес Сундарбан, славящийся размерами и красотой. Жить в дельте индийской реки опасно: в районе происходят наводнения и циклоны.

Пришло время узнать, какая река является самой широкой рекой в мире. Протекает артерия по территории Аргентины и Уругвая. Коренные народы называли это место «речной тарелкой» или River Plate. Современное название — Рио-де-Ла Плата.

Представляет собой эстуарий при впадении в Атлантический океан:

  • Уругвай;
  • Парана.

Европейцы впервые открыли эстуарий в XVI веке, производя попытки найти водный путь из Атлантики в Тихий океан. Эстуарий — устье реки с расширением в сторону морской зоны. Прибрежные районы во время половодья затопляются.

Рио де Ла Плата

Вид из самолета на Буэнос-Айрес и Рио-де-Ла Плата

Ла Плата в самом узком месте достигает ширины в 48, в самом широком — 320 километров. На левом берегу слияния рек стоит столица Аргентины, город Буэнос-Айрес. Площадь бассейна составляет 3,2 миллиона км2. В водах встречается редкий речной дельфин, названный в честь названия эстуария, черепахи.

Почитайте также:  Без воды здесь не выжить: ТОП-10 самых больших пустынь в мире

Ширина водных артерий не имеет серьезного значения для географов, натуралистов, экологов. Гораздо важнее отношение человека к водоемам. Отправляясь на отдых, рыбалку, не забывайте убирать мусор.

Поделиться
Отправить
Класснуть
Популярное

Оставить комментарий

адрес не будет опубликован

Adblock
detector